Ceredigion County Council in exercise of their powers under section 56 of the Housing Act 2004, and after consultation with the residents of the County, determined to introduce an Additional Licencing Scheme to certain areas of the County which it was felt would benefit from such a scheme. This means certain additional Houses in Multiple Occupancy (HMO’s) in these areas will need to apply for an HMO licence. Mandatory HMO licencing (Part 2, Housing Act 2004) still applies to the whole County.

In respect of HMOs occupied by three or more persons, forming two or more households, the following wards of the County are included:

  • Aberystwyth - North
  • Aberystwyth - Central
  • Aberystwyth - Penparcau
  • Aberystwyth - Rheidol
  • Aberystwyth - Bronglais
  • Llanbadarn Fawr - Padarn
  • Llanbadarn Fawr - Sulien
  • Faenor
  • Borth
  • Tirymynach
  • Llanfarian
  • Lampeter

In respect of Section 257 HMO’s the whole County is included.

Additional licencing under this designation came into force on 14th April 2014 and lasts for a period of 5 years.