A committee to strengthen regional working across mid Wales has held its Annual General Meeting.

The Mid Wales Corporate Joint Committee is one of four established across Wales by the Welsh Government. The aim is to strengthen local democracy and accountability by integrating decision making in three key areas.

The committee includes the Leaders of Ceredigion County Council, Powys County Council, Vice-Chair of the Brecon Beacons National Park Authority (for planning matters), and senior representatives from their organisations.

Several appointments were made at the AGM on July 4 2022. Councillor Bryan Davies, Leader of Ceredigion County Council has been elected Chair for the next 12 months. Councillor James Gibson Watt, Leader of Powys County Council has been elected Vice-Chair.

Dr Caroline Turner, Chief Executive of Powys County Council, will continue to carry out the committee’s Chief Executive duties.

The committee has been tasked with the development of regional transport, strategic development plans and improving economic wellbeing.

The Corporate Joint Committees are being introduced by the Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021.