Ceredigion County Council is proud to be supporting Hywel Dda University Health Board by establishing two temporary field hospitals in the county in response to COVID-19.

The sites in Ceredigion are based at Cardigan Leisure Centre, named Ysbyty Enfys Aberteifi and in Aberystwyth, Plascrug Leisure Centre and Penweddig Comprehensive School, named Ysbyty Enfys Aberystwyth.

Hywel Dda has also paid tribute to the ‘remarkable efforts’ made in less than three weeks by partners, contractors, local communities, staff and volunteers involved in the project. The sites will be handed over to the Health Board by Monday 27 April 2020, and will be brought on line as required.

Eifion Evans, Ceredigion County Council Chief Executive, said: “Ceredigion County Council is proud to be supporting Hywel Dda University Health Board in establishing these new facilities. To be able to hand over the buildings within three weeks since starting work demonstrates a tremendous effort. I’d like to thank all the staff from the Health Board and the Council, and all local contractors who stepped up at short notice, for their hard work turning two leisure centres and a school into extra hospital bed facilities in less than three weeks.”

A total of seven temporary hospitals have been converted from council leisure centres, sport and recreational facilities across Ceredigion, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire.

Steve Moore, Chief Executive of Hywel Dda, said: “As a health board we are ready for the challenges ahead and we want our communities to be assured that we have done everything we possibly can to get to this point based on national planning and modelling assumptions.

“I would like to thank everyone who has been involved with these projects for their outstanding effort and commitment.”

Here is the full list of temporary field hospitals in Hywel Dda service area:
• Ysbyty Enfys Aberystwyth – based at Plascrug Leisure Centre and Penweddig Comprehensive School
• Ysbyty Enfys Aberteifi – Canolfan Hamdden Aberteifi
• Ysbyty Enfys Caerfyrddin – based at Carmarthen Leisure Centre
• Ysbyty Enfys Llanelli – based at Llanelli Leisure Centre
• Ysbyty Enfys Selwyn Samuel – based at Selwyn Samuel Centre, Llanelli
• Ysbyty Enfys Scarlets – based at Parc Y Scarlets, Llanelli
• Ysbyty Enfys Carreg Las – based at Bluestone, Pembrokeshire