Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

What is Council Tax?


‚ÄčCouncil Tax is a form of local taxation, based on occupation and or ownership of domestic property, levied by local councils.

It is calculated by adding together amounts needed by the County of Ceredigion, the Dyfed Powys Police Authority and Town and Community Councils. The money collected, from more than 30,000 households, together with Government grants, is used to provide a wide range of services.

Ceredigion County Council provides many services including education, social services, libraries, highway maintenance, street lighting, building control, planning and economic development, park & ride, concessionary travel, passenger transport, cemeteries, trading standards, waste management, council housing, homelessness assistance, leisure centres, parks, playgrounds, car parks, markets, housing benefit, health and safety, food hygiene, information centres, pest control and other related services. The tax, which is 50% property based and 50% personal based, is imposed on all homes and flats within the authority's boundaries, and is based on the assumption that 2 adults occupy each property. However, if only one adult occupies the property, a 25% discount may be available. While Council Tax can also be payable in respect of unoccupied properties, certain exemptions may apply.