Ceredigion County Council in exercise of their powers under section 56 of the Housing Act 2004, and after consultation with the residents of the County, determined to introduce an Additional Licencing Scheme to certain areas of the County which it was felt would benefit from such a scheme. This means certain additional Houses in Multiple Occupancy (HMO’s) in these areas will need to apply for an HMO licence. Mandatory HMO licencing (Part 2, Housing Act 2004) still applies to the whole County.

In respect of HMOs occupied by three or more persons, forming three or more separate households, regardless of the number of storeys in the following wards of the County:

  • Aberystwyth - North
  • Aberystwyth - Central
  • Aberystwyth - Penparcau
  • Aberystwyth - Rheidol
  • Aberystwyth - Bronglais
  • Llanbadarn Fawr - Padarn
  • Llanbadarn Fawr - Sulien
  • Faenor

In respect of HMO’s occupied by 5 or more persons, forming two or more separate households regardless of the number of storeys, the whole County is included.

In respect of Section 257 HMO’s the whole County is included.

Additional licencing under this designation came into force on 14th April 2019 and lasts for a period of 5 years.