Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

New administration formed through three-party coalition

On 12 May, in the first Council meeting since the election, a new administration was formed through a three-party coalition and Councillor Ellen ap Gwynn was re-elected as Leader.
​The coalition is formed of the Plaid Cymru group, the largest grouping with 20 councillors, the Independent group (11) and the Independent Voice group (3). The Liberal Democrats will form the opposition group, with eight councillors. The Leader announced that Councillor Ray Quant MBE is the Deputy Leader.

Councillor Lynford Thomas was as elected as Chairman-elect of Ceredigion County Council and Councillor Hag Harris as Vice Chairman-elect.

During the meeting, the Chairman paid tribute to Neil Flower, a Llandyfrïog ward candidate who died suddenly before the election and expressed sympathies with his family.

Another election was called in the Llandyfrïog ward and Councillor Wyn Thomas was elected unopposed.

No announcement has been made regarding individual portfolio holders in the Cabinet.